Connacht Senior Hurling Champions

St Enda’s College Galway defeated Colaiste Mhuire Ballygar by 4-15 to 0-10 in the Connacht NUIG sponsored Senior C Post Primary Schools Hurling Final at Tuam Stadium last Friday.

St Enda’s greater technical proficiency and ability to create and take their goal chances was central to the city outfit claiming the inaugural Barry Burke Cup.

Two goals in the first half from lively Moycullen corner forward Joe Lydon and another brace from Castlegar’s Patrick O’Boyle in the second period sealed the deal, although St. Enda’s always looked the likely winners having gone in 2-8 to 0-7 ahead at the interval.

As for Coláiste Mhuire, they were rocked by the unavailability of full-back Warren Boyle before throw-in and with such a small panel of players to choose from, it was always going to be difficult for the Ballygar outfit to compensate.

That said, Brian McDonnell’s charges brought a great deal of honesty and effort to proceedings and, certainly, when they played the direct ball to their forwards in the early stages, they caused St. Enda’s quite a bit of trouble.

Their scorers were man of the match Ryan Folan with (0-9, 0-8 from frees), Castlegar’s Patrick O’Boyle who scored 2-1, corner forward Joe Lydon scored 2 goals, Shane Kelly scored 2 points with team captain Ainri White from Moycullen, Declan Walsh and John Gately contributing a point apiece. For Ballygar full forward Tomas Clayton scored 3 points from frees, centre back James Fitzmaurice scored two pointed frees while Colin O’Brien and Eoin Mulrooney also scored 2 points each. Their other point scorer was Robbie Daly. After the game, Colm and Marisse Burke presented the Barry Burke Cup to a delighted St.Enda’s captain.

St Enda’s now meet Salesian College Pallaskenry (Limerick) – who defeated Scarriff CC (Clare) 0-12 to 1-6 in their provincial decider – in the All-Ireland semi-final on Saturday, March 15


Members of the Burke family  presenting the Barry Burke Cup to St Enda’s Captain Aonrai Whyte (Moycullen) L-R Tommy Fox, Chairman of Post Primary Schools GAA, Colm Burke, Adrian Burke, Meresa Burke and Colin Burke.




Facilities & Activites

  • Language Laboratory
  • I.T. Department
  • Science Laboratory
  • Career Guidance
  • Art Room
  • Drama Hall
  • Study Facilities
  • Learning Support Room
  • Sports Pitches
  • Basketball Court
  • Pastoral Care
  • School Chapel